Mr. Talk 6.20

In my time in Japan so far, I’ve discovered a worrying fact, I can never understand the question “Where are you from?” I first noticed this when talking to the custom’s clerk in Japan.

Clerk: (looking at passport) [Can you speak Japanese?]
Me: [Yes.]
Clerk: [Where are you from?]
Me: [Sorry?]
Clerk: [Where are you from?]
Me: [What?]

The same thing occurred when I was stopped on the street by a man advertising real estate. He began his spiel talking about the importance of purchasing property and started to launch into an anecdote about his father before I stopped him to explain I wasn’t living in Japan.

Salesman: [it’s very important to have a nice place, in fact my father…]
Me: [Actually I’-]
Salesman: [Oh! You’re a foreigner?]
Me: [Uh…yes]
Salesman: [Where are you from?]
Me: [What?]

This entry was posted in Anecdote. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mr. Talk 6.20

  1. agnes says:

    you blend in already!

Leave a Reply

