A Cut Above 6.30.10

Today at work they had me check some English documents. Kaji-san had sent over some documents they had translated from Japanese. Unfortunately it seemed they had used a machine translator so some of the sentences were unintelligible. After consulting with Captain Crunch we got the original Japanese documents sent over and I translated them into English. Translating the documents was an interesting experience. The document ended with a sentence that roughly translated to “I am not lying about any of the above information.” Which is an odd sentence to end a document with in English. After thinking about a way to translate it, I decided to remove it from the English translation all together. I felt like if I saw that in a business document I’d start to question the background of the person/company that wrote it.

After work I decided to stop by the barber. On my way there, I ran into Mint as he was leaving work. We exchanged greetings and parted ways. Once I was a couple steps away from the barber I saw Mint again, this time he was in his car. He asked where I was going and offered to give me a ride. I thanked him but told him I was just going to the barber. Japanese barbers have a different level of service. I got a cut (scissors only), shampoo, and shave for about $35. And to be topical I chatted with him about the World Cup game between Japan and Parguay.

This entry was posted in Blahg, Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Cut Above 6.30.10

  1. agnes says:

    Hi Cologan,
    I would ike to share some of my business dealing and contract negotiation with Japanese companies with you if you like. Japanese’s contracts are not as exact or litigious as American legal documents. Here are some phases they use may look useless to Americans:
    – If we have conflicts, both parties will try to resolve them in good faith.
    – Both parties will try their best to honor this contract.
    For your translation in “not lying”, you may want to translate as “these are the facts that are known to us”.
    I will give you Ray Romon’s e-mail. He was the person you met that have translated lots of Japanese documents to English.

    David

    • Cchan says:

      Thanks for the feedback.
      Now that I’m translating business documents I realize there are a lot of things that sound redundant or just awkward when translated to English.

  2. agnes says:

    dad took me searching for a seat at bars/restaurants/pizza parlor where he can watch the final soccer match Spain vs Holland this morning. It was crazy, everywhere was full! we ended up at Aunty Kandie’s restaurant where dad had a good time and I chat away w/aunty.
    Dad mock me for not understanding why he seek to watch the match outside instead in the comfort of our home! He said that’s why you talk to the barber and why Tavis said to pay $3 for a beer and not drinking at home! Still don’t understand…..

    • Cchan says:

      It’s because watching the match or drinking a beer isn’t the important part, it’s about having a shared experience with other people.

      • agnes says:

        I understand now the way you put it…..how come dad and I cannot talk like you or Tavis? just getting everyone upset?

Leave a Reply

