Babel Fish 7.27.10

Today at work Captain Crunch gave me some emails he wanted translated from English to Japanese. I mentioned that my Japanese writing is comparable to that of a 5-year-old with learning disabilities, but he insisted that he would be able to decipher my writing well enough to make it into something intelligible.

Following a cursory review of the document, it struck me that a Japanese person wrote the English. Overall the quality was pretty good, but there were a few odd phrases and grammar points scattered about. The situation I was in reminded me of various translation faux pas. Nevertheless I set out translating the English into Japanese that would probably make pre-school teachers cry. There were some technical terms but I managed to remember enough from my earlier translation project to find a somewhat fitting Japanese equivalent.

I finished up the translations and had a bit of free time before Pogo-san gave me a new project. The project was to automate some data organization in Excel. I managed to figure out the basics of what I needed to do before the day ended, but I had no idea how to automate it -_-;
The fact that I could only use the wholly inadequate Excel help system didn’t really help either.

This entry was posted in Blahg. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Babel Fish 7.27.10

  1. agnes chow says:

    people made a living just by knowing how to operate excel, I took couple classes but so lost.

Leave a Reply

