Back To The Future (Factory) 9.29.10

ACK informed me that they had finished assembling the machine I’m writing a manual for. ACK wanted me to check out the machine and hopefully clear up any misunderstanding I had about its functions. The machine itself was sitting in the factory at Mirai Kojo (Candy Land) so we had to make plans as to how I would get there. Originally I was supposed to go to Mirai Kojo (Capitalism Ho!) at an earlier date, but due to some circumstances we had rescheduled for today. Unfortunately I didn’t know what time I was supposed to go there. But seeing as how this wasn’t too far off standard operating procedure (I’m usually not informed of activities until the day before or day of) I didn’t worry about it too much.

9:00 AM rolls around and I get a call from ACK.
ACK: Um…Where are you right now?
Me: I’m at Namikata.
ACK: Oh. About seeing the machine at 9:00 AM.
Ah crap.

After consulting some of my coworkers and agreeing that it was not possible for me to instantaneously teleport to Mirai Kojo (Party Central) we rescheduled the meeting for 10 AM. Shoe had some errands to run at Mirai Kojo (Electric Boogaloo) so he gave me a ride.

I met up with ACK and headed to the factory to see the machine. After pressing various buttons, setting off alarms, and trying to figure out how many millions of wires were actually connected to the thing I felt I had a decent understanding of how the machine actually worked. I cleared up a few final concerns with ACK and then went off to find Shoe and head back to Namikata.

This entry was posted in Blahg, Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back To The Future (Factory) 9.29.10

  1. David says:

    Can you even write a manual before you have seen the machine ? Did you just translate ? or you actually write the manual from scratch ?

    • Cchan says:

      According to people in the industry it’s fairly common for people to write manuals before the product is actually complete. You’re given the specs and what the engineers/developers want it to do and you start writing; I guess it would be to inefficient to sit on a finished project waiting for the instruction manual to be written. I’m translating the manuals that were written.

  2. agnes says:

    amazing you can do that! So proud of you.

Leave a Reply

