Basketfall (I’m so clever) 9.17.10 – 9.20.10

On an invite from Beer, I went to go play basketball with some people from the company. I’m not very good at basketball but everyone there was pretty laid back so it didn’t really matter. Everything was going dandy until the third game.

Being the tallest person there I was naturally ushered to participate in the tip-off. It started of pretty normal, someone threw the ball up, I intimidated my opponent through sheer height, and then jumped to knock the ball towards someone on my team. Unfortunately everything kind of crumbled as I attempted to land. My foot landed on my defeated opponent’s foot and let out a resounding CRUNCH to let me know I had not made a favorable landing.

Luckily, I had a similar injury just a couple months prior and knew exactly what to do. Sit on the ground and think about how much it hurt. Unable to move at any speed above ‘hobble’ I decided to sit out for the game and attend to my knee. One of the people there got me some ice and I spent most of my time just sitting on the sidelines with a huge chunk of ice on my knee.

Beer offered to take me to the hospital but I declined thinking it wasn’t that big of a deal. There was also the caveat of all the nearby hospitals being closed. I told Beer I would wait a day or two and see how well I could recover on my own.

9.18.10
Against my expectations my knee actually got worse overnight. It swelled up pretty badly reducing my speed of ‘hobble’ to ‘broken pogo stick’. Luckily the cafeteria still offers food on Saturday so I didn’t have to travel too far to obtain sustenance. I spent the majority of my day playing Devil Survivor on my DS and thinking about how nice being able to walk is.

9.19.10
My knee wasn’t any better and my muscles were sore from pogo sticking about the dorm. To my dismay my leg cramped up several times whilst getting up from my bed/chair. Thinking it might be prudent to at least get some crutches, I called up Beer and asked if he could take me to the hospital.

9.20.10
Went hospital hunting with Beer today. Since today is a public holiday most of the hospitals are closed or only have a skeleton crew. We stopped by 3 hospitals only to be told they didn’t have anyone who could help me. One place did offer to take an x-ray, but they said that no one would be able to look at it until tomorrow. Ironically all the movement between the various hospitals actually helped my knee loosen up. I had actually improved my base land speed to ‘pirate with a peg-leg’. I’m thinking about getting a parrot.

Aftermath
My knee is completely fine now. I’m glad because I’m not sure if I’d ever be able to see a Japanese doctor in the first place. Beer had suggested I take a day off from the company to go to the hospital, but cautioned it would probably take at least 2 hours before I could see a doctor. I’m beginning to understand why there are drug stores on almost every block in Japan.

This entry was posted in Blahg, Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Basketfall (I’m so clever) 9.17.10 – 9.20.10

  1. David says:

    Do you want us to buy a Nike Basketball shoes for you ?

    Dad

Leave a Reply

