Beholdeth My English 10.9.10

For awhile I had been wanting to pick up some English books for use in the English lessons I’ve been teaching. I felt like I need something a bit more substantial that clips from TV shows I brought with me and random games I took of the internet. I heard that magazines can be pretty useful when teaching English because the level is appropriate for most intermediate students. Unfortunately, the bookstores in my immediate vicinity do not stock English magazines or books. With this in mind I decided to visit the largest nearby city, Matsuyama.

Captain Crunch happened to be heading to Matsuyama as well so he offered me a ride. After about 20 minutes of navigating the road to Matsuyama he dropped me off at the largest bookstore and bid me adieu. The place was 6 stories tall.

I precariously made my way into the somewhat mammoth bookstore and took a look at the store map and found that the English books were on the 6th floor. I made my way up the escalators and eventually arrived at the corner of the store reserved for English novels and magazines. As I was browsing through their collection of books another Japanese person came into the aisle.

Ah crap, a Japanese person. What are they going to think when they see a gaijin reading gossip magazines
Japanese person: [ignoring my presence]
Oh right, everyone thinks I’m Japanese in the first place. Wait, then maybe they think I can’t read English! I’ll show them…

At this point I picked up a copy of Scientific American and start reading it at fast pace.

Check me out, reading English like a pro
Japanese person: [still ignoring my presence]

Eventually I resumed browsing for materials I could use for teaching English. I eventually settled on some volumes of Encyclopedia Brown. I also picked up the English translation of Nodame Cantabile for Captain Crunch since he is a fan of the series.

After purchasing my books I decided to grab some lunch. I walked down some side alleys and found a place that was specialized in serving katsu. I decided to give it a try. The place was pretty small but the décor was nice. The kitchen was located right at the entrance of the shop so a customer could easily see everything the chefs were doing. I sat down and looked at the menu. The cheapest item on the menu was 2,000 yen ($20). Though considering my average bill when I ate out was about 700 yen ($7) I decided now was as good a time as any to splurge a bit. I ended up ordering the beef katsu set.

Beef Katsu

Totally worth it.
I also want to note how much I love the Japanese mentality of frying everything.

With my belly full of expensive katsu I stopped by a music store to pick up some CDs. I ended up picking up the new cd by The Pillows and another Perfume CD [don’t judge me]. I also noticed they had a display featuring KARA but not one for SNSD [I said don’t judge me]. Following my purchase I realized it was getting pretty late. I decided to hop on the local tram to the train station and take the train back to Imabari.

This entry was posted in Blahg, Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Beholdeth My English 10.9.10

  1. agnes chow says:

    exchange rate is wrong! 80 yen to a dollar now.
    I was told food are the best at small stalls.
    Quite expensive! I budget my meals like you.

  2. dyshin says:

    Italics is cruise control for cool

  3. Ina says:

    Pillows still your favorite? =)
    I remember that was on the SYLP scavenger hunt.

    • Cchan says:

      I’m flattered that you remember something as minor as that ^^
      The Pillows are still one of my favorite bands, but Rurutia is hands down my favorite singer. If you have time I highly recommend checking out some of her music 😀

  4. Ina says:

    Such bubbly music choice. =)

    • Cchan says:

      Yeah…but if I listen to that kind of music for too long I can feel my brain start to rot.
      Which kind of explains why I have such a short attention span 0TL

Leave a Reply

