Company Trip Deux 11.7.10

I woke up from alcohol fueled sleep early the next morning. (Un)Fortunately I had managed to purge most of the alcohol the night before so I felt fairly refreshed. Since I woke up pretty early I decided to grab some breakfast at the hotel and take a morning stroll. As I was returning to the hotel I ran into Annie and Exphile.

Annie: Morning Chan-san!
Exphile: You called him Chan-san?
Annie: Ah! John-san!
Me: …morning

We exchanged some pleasantries and chatted a bit until the conversation moved towards my novembeard. I tried to explain the tradition behind the novembeard, but prostate cancer isn’t a word readily available in my Japanese vocabulary. I settled on just telling them that a lot of college students in the US don’t shave their beard during November. They seemed somewhat puzzled by the fact that guys would suddenly want to grow beards. I left them to ponder the magnificence of facial hair and made my way to the hotel lobby to meet up with Captain Crunch.

We went a temple dedicated to a guy so smart (I think) that he was declared the god of studying. I think it was only fitting that upon arrival we saw a monkey doing tricks. The temple reminded me of 90% of every other temple I’ve seen in Japan. I’m not really much of a temple connoisseur. I did pick up a charm for studying though.

After our short excursion we headed back to the hotel so we could get on the busses for the 7-hour ride home. Company trips our really exhausting -_-;

This entry was posted in Blahg, Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Company Trip Deux 11.7.10

  1. David says:

    Could it be Confusiss that the temple is dedicated to ?

    • Cchan says:

      No, it was a Japanese person. He held some kind of advisory position…I don’t really remember too much more. At the very least he’s not super well known as Captain Crunch wasn’t really sure who he was either.

  2. agnes says:

    make a suggestion to your company they should make one big trip a year and fly you guys somewhere instead!

  3. Aaron says:

    You get really sick of temples in Egypt and Thailand, among other equally righteous/religious countries.

    • Cchan says:

      Yeah, it’s kind of odd how most people in Japan aren’t very religious yet you can find a shrine of some kind every couple of blocks. I’ve also realized that most Japanese people don’t even follow the proper practices for purification and praying while visiting shrines.

Leave a Reply

