Aikido 2.15.11

I went to the Aikido class that Peaches and Captain Crunch go to, it’s held in a gym in Namikata. The first time I went (with Peaches) I just observed the class but this time I was going to participate. I met up with Captain Crunch at about 8:00 PM and we drove over to the gym.

When we entered there were some people already practicing. We walked by and into the locker rooms to change into our gis, where upon Captain Crunch instructed me to put on the pants backwards. After getting changed we went out to start the practice.

For those of you who don’t know, Aikido is a martial arts form that involves a lot of throws. So when I went to the class I was prepared to get roughed up a little, especially since I haven’t practiced ukemi, basically techniques you use when falling so your body doesn’t implode upon making contact with the ground. But while I was mentally prepared to get thrown around like a rag doll, I had completely overlooked seiza. Seiza is a formal way of sitting that was super engineered by Japanese scientists to cause pain and discomfort in gaijin.

So as we sat there in seiza (oh god the pain) as the instructor explained the next move we were going to practice and a few key points. Unfortunately, my ability take in information is severely hampered in the event that I lose all feeling in my legs. So after the brief explanation the instructor came over to me, grabbed my wrist and gave me a “go ahead” look. To which I responded with a ‘Ihavenofreakingcluewhatisgoingon’ shuffle.

After a bit the instructor managed to interpret the meaning behind my mystifying dance and we traded roles. I grabbed his wrist and then

*whump*

Ah, this feels familiar.

After I took turns throwing and getting thrown by the instructor in an attempt to absorb some of the basics of Aikido. At the end of the class, the instructor even paid me a compliment.

Instructor: You still need to work on relaxing your shoulders, but your falling form is pretty good.
Me: Thanks, I’ve had a lot of practice.

I neglected to mention the exact nature of my practice.

This entry was posted in Blahg, Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Aikido 2.15.11

  1. David says:

    Ukemi – Does it mean you hit the mat (tatami) with your hand as hard as you can to counter the force of falling ? I practiced Judo when I was young. For the first 3 months, we only practiced “Ukemi” how to fall before we do anything. One reason is to get rid of the fear of falling. Second reason is that you can hurt yourself if you do not know how to fall. It was very boring for the first 3 months. But it was really fun after that.

    • Cchan says:

      More or less.

      Yeah, ukemi practice is very important. Captain Crunch mentioned that every year in Japan there are middle school and high school students that die during practice because they take a strong hit to the back of the head after a throw.

  2. agnes says:

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  3. agnes says:

    NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO, practice taichi better

  4. agnes says:

    no broken body parts please!

Leave a Reply

