Update

So… how’s everyone doing? Since it’s been awhile since I’ve updated my blog (almost 2 months?), I thought I’d include a brief overview of what I’ve been doing/what’s been happening lately. I’ll write in more detail about some of the events later.

So, in loose chronological order:

-Made a Christmas dinner of steak and mashed potatoes with help from Arsenal and Ambassador. Despite being Australian, this was Arsenal’s first time cooking steak. There were no fires this time.

-Exchanged Secret Santa presents between Ambassador, Arsenal, Mama, and myself. I got a crazy-awesome doll/puppet from Ambassador. It’s currently sitting in one of the small cubbies in my desk because I think it would scare the living crap out of me if I saw it the moment I woke up.

-Spent New Year’s Eve at a pizza place with Ambassador and a bunch of his friends from Indonesia. The place gave out free pizza and beer after midnight. Got a bit tipsy and slept in the booth, as per my modus operandi.

-Found out that the trip to Japan that was originally going to happen in November was now happening on the 31st of January.

-Montanas left for Columbia to finish university.

-Went to Hong Kong and spent Chinese New Years with my aunt. Bought an iPad, clothes, and a Chinese movie called “开心魔法 Magic to Win”. I’m still not sure what the point of the movie was. Met up with Ongbak and spent an hour trying to find an arcade that was right next to the subway station exit.

-Returned from Hong Kong on the 27th to discover that I was leaving for Japan on the 30th, not the 31st.

-Went to Japan with Arsenal and his uncle. Spent a total of 4 nights in Tokyo and 2 nights in Sendai. Lots of stuff happened in Japan, will write a proper post about it later.

-Arsenal left for Australia to start university.

-Met new students coming for the new semester.

-Realized the odd feeling you get when reminiscing about your friends in Beijing that were just there a few weeks ago; and then trying to give a brief description of them to new friends giving you a blank stare.

-Thought about how fast things change here in Beijing.

This entry was posted in Blahg, China, Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update

  1. agnes says:

    pretty soon its your turn returning to the State!

  2. maplesugar85 says:

    iPad!!! really? that’s awesome 🙂 does it cost less in Hong Kong?

  3. agnes says:

    Has Sandei recovered yet ? Keep in touch with all your friends. We live in a global world now and soon you will run into them again.

Leave a Reply

