Priorities

So, I take a look at Facebook and see everyone getting married, working on their next big project, buying houses, essentially taking that next big step in their lives. And what am I doing? Getting a bit teary eyed over the fact that Oreimo is going to end with the next volume (volume 12). And you know what? I’m perfectly fine with that.

Oreimo is an abbreviation of “Ore no imouto ga konnani kawaii wake ga nai” (俺の妹がこんなに可愛いわかがない). Now those of you who can read Japanese or Chinese probably just had a shiver run up your spine. For those of you who don’t speak either of those languages, come with me on a trip back in time.

(2 years ago in Japan)

Disclaimer: This conversation has been re-constructed from my very shaky memory.

(Chatting on Skype with my high-school friend Perks)
Me: So, I feel like I should be studying Japanese more. I’m trying to find some good shows to watch, any suggestions?
Perks: Yeah, have you seen Ore no imouto ga konnani kawaii wake ga nai?
My Brain: [Converting from Japanese to English…]
My Brain: [Complete!]
My Brain: [Translation: There’s no way my little sister can be this cute!]
Me: …what the hell have you been watching recently
Perks: No! It’s actually a really good show!

With some hesitation, I decided to pirate legally obtain a couple of episodes. And it turns out Perks was right. Afterwards (well, still am I guess), went on an Oreimo binge. After finishing the rest of the animated series I started reading the book series it was based on. This rabid fandom also led me to meet one of my best friends from China.

(Because this exchange was so earth-shatteringly awesome, I’ve decided to immortalize it in picture form!)

In the end, I guess what I really want to say is, I hope the world doesn’t end in 2012. Cuz then I’ll never get to see how Oreimo ends.

This entry was posted in Blahg. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Priorities

  1. Big Dog says:

    That is really cute.

Leave a Reply

