Tokyo Marathon

Japan Day 2
Our first full day in Tokyo, Arsenal’s uncle had something to do, so Arsenal and I decided to run around and hit all the major tourist spots in Tokyo: Akihabara, Tokyo Tower, Ueno, Kaminari Mon, Shibuya, and Roppongi. I also came to the realization that it is incredibly easy to walk between all these places. We started out navigating the Tokyo subway system but eventually just started hoofing it between all the different places we had marked out. Nothing too eventful happened while we wandered around, saw some pretty buildings, stared at maps for a bit to figure out our orientation, grabbed lunch at a family restaurant, and just took in the sights and sounds of Tokyo.

Arsenal’s uncle had made plans to meet up with one of his friends (let’s call him Platypus) in Tokyo for dinner. So around 7 or 8 we headed back to Arsenal’s hotel to meet up with his uncle and head towards the meeting spot together. The person we met was considerably younger than I had imagined, he was only 1 or 2 years older than me. Platypus greeted us quite happily and introduced his girlfriend to us, after introductions had finished we headed towards a restaurant they had picked out. The place we went to was an Izakaya, the place was dimly lit but had nice furnishings. The food there was pretty good, we ended up ordering a bunch of different things and just chatted for a few hours. After dinner, we headed to a nearby bar for drinks and bar food.

I don’t remember a lot of the conversation, but I remember throughout the night Platypus’s girlfriend became increasingly drunk. Arsenal’s uncle, who had an early morning (well, so did we) excused himself early to return to the hotel. So the 4 of us kept drinking and chatting. After another hour or so we decided to pay the bill and head home. After leaving the bar we headed back towards Arsenal’s hotel while Platypus’s girlfriend made us promise that we’d keep in contact with her through email. Halfway to the hotel Platypus and his girlfriend split off wishing us a good night, I walked with Arsenal back to the hotel and then headed towards the subway station… only to find it closed.

I kind of stood there blankly for a few minutes considering my options. Crash at Arsenal’s hotel room? Too awkward. Take a cab? Too expensive. Walk? …we have a winner!

Since I had walked around most of Tokyo earlier today, I actually had a decent idea of where my hostel was in regards to Arsenal’s hotel. So I got my bearings and started walking towards Asakusa. I was kind of hoping to run into some crazy late night happenings but alas, there were none to be had. Other than some unconventionally unhelpful convenience store clerks, I didn’t have any encounters that night.

About the convenience store clerks, after trekking 95% of the way to my destination I found myself at the entrance to a subway stop one stop away from my destination. I stopped by to ask which direction I should go to get to Asakusa and was only met with a shrug of the shoulders. I was thoroughly disappointed. I ended up figuring it out by peering through the glass of a closed down station that had a map of the local area.

Anyways, after about an hour of trekking from Ginza to Asakusa I finally made it back to my hostel. This time, there was no one in the reception area. Which wasn’t too surprising considering it was ~2:00 in the morning at this point. I used my key to open the front door, cleaned up, and went to bed. As I drifted off to sleep I realized I still had no idea who my roommates were, both nights I stayed here I had gone to sleep after them and woken up before them. And I had to get up early again the next day; we were catching a bullet train north to Sendai.

-End Day 2-

This entry was posted in Blahg, China, Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tokyo Marathon

  1. Agnes says:

    Compare to one of your 6 hours walking around town finding your way back, an hour is nothing! Hope you have comfortable shoes on.

Leave a Reply

